Chicago Transportation Leadership Team Announced

Forrest Claypool

Forrest Claypool

Mayor-elect Rahm Emanuel announced Tuesday that he’s tapping Forrest Claypool to run the CTA. Claypool, a former Cook County Commissioner, will take over for Richard Rodriguez, who has been CTA president since 2009.

Emanuel also announced that current CTA Board Chairman Terry Peterson will stay on board. And he named Gabe Klein as commissioner of the Chicago Department of Transportation.

For more information on the Chicago Transportation Leadership Team, read below.

Forrest Claypool, Chicago Transit Authority (CTA) President
Forrest Claypool served two terms as Cook County Commissioner. As Commissioner, he spearheaded whistleblower legislation to help crack down on fraud, led the fight against waste and excessive taxes, and championed healthcare reforms that are making primary care more accessible to Cook County residents. Claypool is also a former Superintendent of the Chicago Park District. At the Park District, he successfully streamlined the budget, rooted out waste and abuse, lowered taxes and increased programs for families and kids across the city. During his long career in public service, Claypool has served as Illinois’ Deputy State Treasurer, Deputy Commissioner of the Cook County Board of (Property Tax) Appeals, and as Chief of Staff to Mayor Richard M. Daley. Claypool graduated from Southern Illinois University and the University of Illinois College of Law.

Terry Peterson, Chicago Transit Board Chair
Terry Peterson has served as the Chicago Transit Board Chair since 2009. During his tenure, he has been a consistent and effective advocate for CTA customers. He fought for federal and state funds to make the CTA more reliable and convenient for Chicagoans across the city. Peterson came to the Board with a long history of public service. Prior to his time on the Board, he served six years as the Chief Executive Officer of the Chicago Housing Authority (CHA). There, Peterson was responsible for executing CHA’s Plan for Transformation, a 10-year program to overhaul the City’s public housing system. Peterson previously represented the 17th Ward as Alderman, and was the Assistant Commissioner in the City’s Department of Planning and Development. Currently, Peterson is also the Vice President of Governmental Affairs at Rush University Medical Center. Peterson graduated from Chicago State University and received his MA in Public Administration from Roosevelt University.

Gabe Klein, Chicago Department of Transportation Commissioner
Gabe Klein served as Director of the District Department of Transportation (DDOT) under Mayor Adrian Fenty in Washington D.C. Klein’s tenure at the DDOT coupled bold policy initiatives with improvements in existing infrastructure, including the expansion of Circulator bus lines, initiating the largest number of complex infrastructure projects in DDOT history, and launching the nation’s largest bikesharing program. Klein came to DDOT with over 12 years’ experience as an entrepreneurial executive, serving as regional vice president of Zipcar, the world’s largest carsharing company, and as co-founder and Chief Executive Officer of On the Fly, an innovative company that designed and operated zero-emission electric vending trucks, helping spur the mobile food business model in the U.S. He also spent over 10 years in the bicycle business in executive roles. Klein received his Bachelor of Science in marketing management from Virginia Tech.

On Monday, Emanuel named the new team to run Chicago Public Schools. For more information on those members, click here.

This entry was posted in Biography & Profiles, Government, Media, More on the Story, News & Public Affairs, Politics, Rahm Emanuel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments are closed.